How did I get here?

Being able to wield a pen and pencil was something I’d always found myself able to do with some success, yet I found the medium and/or my ability to utilise it, limited, and equally the pleasure I drew.

Years passed without producing anything creative until 2003 when I defied my lecturers and all things 3D Studio Max and taught myself how to use Maxon’s Cinema 4D. Nine years later and I’m still only scraping the surface of C4D!

Inspired by films like King Kong (2005), The Lord of the Rings (2001) and Harry Potter (2001) as well as earlier films such as Labyrinth (1986), The Dark Crystal (1982) and Jason and the Argonauts (1963) my ambition had always been to work in film. To this end, I’ve focussed the MA in Creative Media that I’m currently attending on achieving this goal.

This has taken me down a path where I have studied High Dynamic Range Imaging and their use in 3D, Linear Workflow, Compositing, Colour Grading, and Matchmoving. The example below shows the resulting culmination of these studies.

Camera Tracked and Composited Animated 3D CGI Frog

Camera Tracked, Composited and Animated 3D CGI Frog

The results of my initial studies were successful yet the brain is still not fooled into believing that the CG elements are real. Even when looking at blockbuster films like The Lord of the Rings, one is still able to distinguish between what is real and what is not. Take this scene of the character Ferodo in the same shot as a Cave Troll for example, it is clear which of these characters are real and which is computer generated.

Lord of the Rings Cave Troll

Lord of the Rings Cave Troll

What qualities of reality are missing in CG?

If you’d like to know more about my creative journey to date I have written a short bio on my freelance 3D CGI design and animation portfolio.

One thought on “How did I get here?

  1. Pingback: Some more renders | Photorealism in 3D CGI Imagery

Leave a Reply

