Research Plan

I order to compile a research plan the brainstorm that was generated at the start of this project was consulted in order to identify areas of research that would support this project. Regrettably, the course deadlines dictate that only avenues of research are priorities in order of importance and many of the subjects will not be included in research.

I’d said earlier in my observations that I needed to study Sub Surface Scattering but have not as yet achieved this. As I have begun modelling the cats for my animation, sub surface scattering will be an important part of making them look real. In addition to this, I have no experience of using specular maps but currently believe that specular maps will play an important role in achieving realism in the primary characters of the animation. In account of this, Sub Surface Scattering and Specular Maps will be researched.

I have already spent time exploring reflections but have not as yet begun experimenting with transparencies and refraction. Unfortunately, as the animated project doesn’t immediately require transparency, this area of study is not a priority.

In my original hypothesis, It’s suggest that the study of digital photography might hold the key to achieving realism. However, many of the artefacts that are created as a by-product of digital imaging have already been generated so the study of photography is not a priority either. It would be useful to explore depth of field and how a shallow depth of field can be replicated in the 3D environment, although this will only occur once the primary topics of research have been exhausted.

One area of priority should be Gamma, Linear Workflow and Colour Profiles as they enable better support for HDR Imaging and colour replication. I have studied these areas previously in my MA, but don’t feel that I have as yet achieved sufficient understanding to effectively incorporate these methods into my practice.

The primary goal of the research should be studying what has been done by other practitioners in order to achieve photorealism so that I can compare their findings to my own and attempt to improve upon what has already been discovered.

I will need to give some attention to finding some focussed research materials that will most likely be in the form of online articles, blogs, portfolios and videos, as well as books and magazines.

One artist in particular who seems to have an excellent grasp of photorealism is Alex Roman. His work will be consulted in order to identify areas of good practice.

Leave a Reply

